Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News
U.S. National Team


July 2, 2015
Johnson, Lloyd, Rapinoe, Solo award finalists

VANCOUVER -- To the winners go the spoils -- or at least to the finalists at this point.

Four U.S. players find themselves shortlisted for two big awards at the Women's World Cup

Defender Julie Johnston and midfielders Carli Lloyd and Megan Rapinoe are among eight finalists for the Golden Ball Award as tournament MVP, it was announced by FIFA Thursday.

Hope Solo is one of three finalists for the Golden Glove Award as the best goalkeeper. She is vying for the award with Germany's Nadine Angerer and Ayumi Kaihori of Japan.

The USA will vie for its third world championship and first since 1999 when it meets defending champion Japan at B.C. Place on Sunday. It will be a rematch of the 2011 final.

Others on the short list for the Golden Ball are: Saori Ariyoshi (JPN), Lucy Bronze (ENG), Amandine Henry (FRA), Aya Miyama (JPN) and Celia Sasic (GER).

In addition, there are three candidates for the young player award, given to a player born after July 1, 1995. The candidates are Canada's Kadeisha Buchanan, Norway's Ada Hegerberg and China's Jiali Tang.

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2015 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC All Rights Reserved