Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News
U.S. National Team


U.S. U-20s enter Dallas Cup

U.S. Under-20 coach Tab Ramos has named a 22-player roster to compete in the Dallas Cup March 20-26, U.S. Soccer announced Monday.

The U.S. will be placed in Group A of the Gordon Jago Super Group, kicking off against CF Monterrey Rayados of Mexico March 20. The U.S. will face Fulham FC of England March 21 and finish group play against TSG 1899 Hoffenheim of Germany March 23.

The U.S. players participated in U.S. Soccer’s Youth National Team program: 11 are competing collegiately; four with MLS teams; three with Development Academy teams; and four with club teams abroad. Four players – John Nelson, Matt Olosunde, Josh Perez and Auston Trusty – were born in 1998, and the other 19 were born in 1997.

“The Dallas Cup will provide us a great opportunity to see all of these players in meaningful international games,” Ramos said. “We will see which players stand out and what combination of players work well together as we build towards U-20 WC Qualifying in early 2017.”

The U-20s held a January training camp in Miami, winning two matches against local club teams. Nelson, Brooks Lennon and Sebastian Saucedo did not participate in the January camp.

The Dallas Cup is the first step toward forming a roster for the 2017 CONCACAF U-20 Championship, which will qualify four teams for the 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup in South Korea.

The USA achieved its best Dallas Cup finish in 2014 by going undefeated through group play and dispatching Fluminense’s U-20 team before losing in the championship match to Argentina’s River Plate U-20s.

U.S. U-20 MNT Gordon Jago Super Group A Schedule:
March 20
U-20 MNT vs. CF Monterrey Rayados
Cotton Bowl at 6:30 p.m. CT
March 21
U-20 MNT vs. Fulham FC
Richland College at 4 p.m. CT
March 23
U-20 MNT vs. TSG 1899 Hoffenheim

• GOALKEEPERS (2): Jonathan Klinsmann (University of California; Newport Beach, Calif.), JT Marcinkowski (Georgetown; Alamo, Calif.)
• DEFENDERS (8): Marcello Borges (Michigan; Kearny, N.J.), Auston Trusty (Philadelphia Union; Media, Pa.), Aaron Herrera (New Mexico; Casa Grande, Ariz.), Andrew Lombard (Northeastern; Montclair, N.J.), John Nelson (Internationals SC; Medina, OH), Matt Olosunde (Manchester United; Trenton, N.J.), Tommy Redding (Orlando City SC; Oviedo, Fla.), Miles Robinson (Syracuse; Arlington, Mass.)
• MIDFIELDERS (7): Danny Acosta (Real Salt Lake; Salt Lake City, UT), Amir Bashti (Stanford; Cupertino, Calif.), Brooks Lennon (Liverpool; Paradise Valley, Ariz.), Cameron Lindley (Indiana Fire; Carmel, Ind.), Josh Perez (AFC Fiorentina; La Habra, Calif.), Eryk Williamson (Maryland; Alexandria, Va.), Jackson Yueill (UCLA, Minneapolis, Minn.)
• FORWARDS (5): Jeremy Ebobisse (Duke; Bethesda, Md.), Sebastian Elney (Maryland; West Chester, Pa.), Victor Mansaray (Seattle Sounders; Des Moines, Wash.), Emmanuel Sabbi (Chicago Magic; Libertyville, Ill.), Sebastian Saucedo (Veracruz; Casa Grande, Ariz.)

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2015 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC All Rights Reserved