Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News
U.S. National Team


December 14, 2015
Bradley, Dempsey, Guzan, Johnson, Yedlin are up for U.S. Soccer male player of the year

CHICAGO - U.S. Soccer Monday announced the five nominees for 2015 U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year.

This year's field features midfielder Michael Bradley, forward Clint Dempsey, goalkeeper Brad Guzan and defenders Fabian Johnson and DeAndre Yedlin.

A new voting process was instituted last year. Votes will be collected from national team and youth national team coaches and staff, MNT players who have earned a cap in 2014, Major League Soccer and North American Soccer League head coaches, select media members, former players and administrators.

The winner will be announced.

Dempsey is a three-time winner of the award (2007, 2011, 2012), while Michael Bradley has earned three nominations.

Bradley (2007) and Yedlin (2014) were previous winners of the Young Male Player of the Year. Johnson earned his second consecutive nomination, while Brad Guzan makes his debut on the short list.

Landon Donovan holds the record for most Male Player of the Year awards with four honors (2003, 2004, 2009, 2010).

The U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year has been awarded since 1984, when former Cosmos midfielder Rick Davis earned the inaugural honor.

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2015 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC All Rights Reserved