Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News


May 18, 2014
Leon are Clausura champions

Leon 2, Pachuca 0 (Leon wins 4-3 on aggregate)
Leon blanked Pachuca 2-0 Sunday at Estadio Hidalgo to repeat as Liga Mx champions by a 4-3 aggregate score. The Esmeraldas are only the second team (after Pumas) to win back-to-back Apertura and Clausura titles.

Ignacio Gonzalez netted the game-winner in the 21st minute of overtime after the 1-0 regulation result left the series tied 3-3. Mauro Boselli opened the Leon scoring in the 65th minute.

Leon ‘keeper William Yarbrough dove to fend off a dangerous shot by Pachuca’s Freddy Pajoy in the 26th minute. The match gained in intensity after the intermission, with the teams trading chances before Boselli finally beat netminder Oscar Perez to tie the series. Jose Maria Cardenas took the ball near the left end line before cutting a pass back for Boselli.

Yarbough came up with another clutch save in the 76th minute, picking off Diego de Buen’s breakaway shot, and Jurgen Damm sent Pachuca’s last chance to snatch a regulation win over the bar in the dying minutes.

After a punchless first 15 minutes of overtime, Gonzalez got free to punch the deciding header past Perez.

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2015 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC All Rights Reserved